LUMAS 2016 Awards | University of Lincoln Media Arts Showcase

Photo: Adam N Fleming

Here’s a round up about the School’s annual showcase and awards ceremony, held on 23rd February, LUMAS 2016.  It was organised by the committee at Lincoln School of Film & Media, led and hosted by our 2015 Graduate events assistant Richard Rumble. See extracts of LSFM students’ work on the LUMAS Submission Showreeel edited by final year student Lyon Owen (on LSFM Industry Mentoring). Slideshow photos are courtesy of the University’s Social Media Officer Georgia-Sian Thompson and the story by PR Officer Cerri Evans:

The glittering black tie evening included screenings of short films, photography, audio work, and animations by students and graduates. Sarah Barrow, Head of the School of Film and Media, said: “As seen through the submissions, showreels and displays at the event, the LUMAS is a fantastic celebration of student creativity, teamwork and achievement, as well as the way staff and students worked together to make the showcase happen.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I never fail to be impressed by what they can achieve. We’re also incredibly grateful to our guests, supporters and sponsors for their commitment, and I must also say a thank you to The Engine Shed’s technical team for their hard work.”

The introduction for Best Production came from former Warner Bros Senior Vice-President for Business and Legal Affairs in Europe, Middle East and Africa, Rick Senat. Rick spearheaded negotiations for the rights for films including the Harry Potter franchise. Speaking to students at the event, he said: “I am often asked by students what they should be doing in the industry to make a name for themselves. After seeing the work here, I think it should be me asking you the questions.”

Two lucky students, Nathan Daniel and Michelle Yates, also received a Lincoln Camera Club Bursary of £500 to spend a London Camera Exchange. A series of awards were presented on the night to current students from across the School of Film & Media. The award winners were:

Engaging Storyline: Hassan Khan, Adam Fleming, Adam Gregory, Daisy Howstan, Harry Biggins for There’s Always Hope and Ronnie Bushell for Level Up

Best Creativity: Michael Burton

Best Research: William Pryer

Best Production: Michael Jepson, Zoe Hewitson, Dan Davison, Harry Watson, Matthew Day

Best Sound: Charlotte Ellis & Jade Girgensons

Best Technical Skill: Lyon Owen

Best Collaborative Practice: Chloe Perry, Nathan Daniel, Samuel Metcalfe, Matteo Dalla-Valle, Jamie Kilpatrick

Best External Engagement: Emma Jones

Rising Star/Level One to Watch: George Morris

Best Graduate: Oliver George, Edward Buxton, Bryony Hooper, Alexander Pollard, Mason Carter for The Fantastic